Saturday, November 28, 2015

New Force Awakens Extended TV Spot, Score List and Lightsaber Battle Inspirations

The steady drip of Star Wars: The Force Awakens promotional stuff continues. With it comes just a tiny itty bitty bit more info about the movie itself. The latest is a new TV spot (below) and the score list for John William's soundtrack (below). Technically it has spoilers but nothing that means a thing to me in regards to piecing together a story.

Also in an interview with Empire, JJ Abrams discussed his inspiration for the lightsaber battles came from Terrence Malick's "powerful stillness", Kurosawa's "unbelievable scene choreography and composition", and John Ford Western's "confidence" saying "When you look at Star Wars and Empire, they are very different lightsaber battles, but for me they felt more powerful because they were not quite as slick [as the prequels]. I was hoping to go for something much more primitive, aggressive and rougher, a throwback to the kind of heart-stopping lightsaber fights I remembered being so enthralled by as a kid."

Score List
1. Main Title and the Attack on the Jakku Village
2. The Scavenger
3. I Can Fly Anything
4. Rey Meets BB-8
5. Follow Me
6. Rey’s Theme
7. The Falcon
8. That Girl with the Staff
9. The Rathtars!
10. Finn’s Confession
11. Maz’s Counsel
12. The Starkiller
13. Kylo Ren Arrives at the Battle
14. The Abduction
15. Han and Leia
16. March of the Resistance
17. Snoke
18. On the Inside
19. Torn Apart
20. The Ways of the Force
21. Scherzo for X-Wings
22. Farewell and the Trip
23. The Jedi Steps and Finale

No comments:

Post a Comment